What Is the Penalty for Drunk Driving in Texas?

February 16th, 2024

If you’ve been charged with a DUI or DWI in Texas, you could be facing considerable penalties. 

Keep reading to learn what is the penalty for drunk driving in Texas, and remember that a San Antonio DUI defense lawyer can help you work to reduce the penalties and charges against you.

DWI and DUI Penalties for Minors

The penalties for DUI and DWI charges vary depending on the age of the accused. For individuals under the age of 21, you could be facing the following consequences:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • License suspension of up to one year
  • A 12+ hour alcohol education program

Keep in mind that your license may be suspended for an additional 90 days if you fail to complete your alcohol education program. You may also face different license penalty lengths if your judge assigns community service hours.

DWI and DUI Penalties for Adults

When it comes to the penalties for drunk driving for adults, the consequences you’ll face will depend on how many times you’ve been charged with the same crime, as well as circumstances related to your charges. Keep in mind that you may not face every penalty, depending on the severity of the accusations against you. 

A child passenger is anyone under the age of 15.

Penalties for DWI and DUI First Offense

  • Between 3 and 180 days of jail time
  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • DWI education or intervention
  • Up to 2-year license suspension
  • An annual fine of up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license
  • Ignition interlock device

Penalties for DWI and DUI Second Offense

  • Between 1 month and 1 year of jail time
  • A fine of up to $4,000
  • DWI education or intervention
  • Up to 2-year license suspension
  • An annual fine of up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license
  • Ignition interlock device

Penalties for DWI and DUI Third Offense and Beyond

  • Between 2 years and 10 years in state prison
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • DWI education or intervention
  • Up to 2-year license suspension
  • An annual fine of up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license
  • Ignition interlock device

Penalties for DWI and DUI With a Child Passenger

  • Up to 2 years of jail time
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Up to 180-day license suspension

The penalties for drunk driving with a child passenger may stack on top of your penalties for drunk driving, meaning a third offense could still land you in state prison for 10 years or longer.

Get Fierce San Antonio DUI Defense From John G. Perez Jr.

These are just a few of the ways that drunk driving can land you with criminal penalties. There are related offenses, such as refusing or failing a chemical test, which can see your penalties increased. 

Determining what penalties you could be facing for a DUI charge in San Antonio can be complicated, but a San Antonio DUI defense attorney can help you figure out what you’re facing and how to fight it. Don’t face the process of fighting for your rights on your own. Get help from San Antonio DUI defense lawyer John G. Perez Jr.

If you’ve been charged with a DUI in San Antonio, reach out to get a fierce San Antonio DUI defense from attorney John G. Perez Jr.

Your FREE Case Review